Quantum Theory of Materials

We calculate and analyse the complex structural, electronic, magnetic and transport quantities of quantum materials — for fundamental research and practical applications.

Head: Prof. Dr. Stefan Blügel

News and Events

Künstlerische Darstellung der atomaren Spitze eines Rastertunnelmikroskops beim Abtasten einer Metalloberfläche mit einem aufgelagerten Kobaltatom.

Researchers Question Fundamental Study on the Kondo Effect

Jülich, 7 January 2021 - The Kondo effect influences the electrical resistance of metals at low temperatures and generates complex electronic and magnetic orders. Novel concepts for data storage and processing, such as using quantum dots, are based on this. In 1998, researchers from the United States published spectroscopic studies on the Kondo effect using scanning tunnelling microscopy, which are considered ground-breaking and have triggered countless others of a similar kind. Many of these studies may have to be re-examined now that Jülich researchers have shown that the Kondo effect cannot be proven beyond doubt by this method. Instead, another phenomenon is creating precisely the spectroscopic “fingerprint” that was previously attributed to the Kondo effect.

Bild

PGI Colloquium: Prof. Dr. Peter Zoller, University of Innsbruck & Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information, Innsbruck, Austria

Quantum optical systems with cold atoms an ions provides one of the best ways to build controllable quantum many-body systems as quantum computers and quantum simulators. Here we report on recent developments in building, and in particular programming quantum simulators based on trapped ions as intermediate scale quantum devices.

Focus

Nachwuchs13_jpg

Wanted: Young Research Scientists!

Are you looking for an exciting, challenging Master’s, PhD or postdoctoral position? Are you interested in research involving theoretical solid state physics, and do you enjoy developing numerical and computational methods?

PGI-1

Joint Lab Virtual Materials Design

The goal of the JL-VMD is the development and validation of methods for computational material development.

Lounis_jpg

Young Investigators Group Prof. Samir Lounis

Functional Nanoscale Structure Probe and Simulation Laboratory

Lezaic_jpg

Young Investigators Group Dr. Marjana Ležaić

Computational Nanoferronics Laboratory

Quanten-Theorie der Materialien

Wir berechnen und analysieren die komplexen strukturellen, elektronischen und magnetischen Eigenschaften sowie die Transporteigenschaften von Quantenmaterialien – für Grundlagenforschung und praktische Anwendungen.

Direktor: Prof. Dr. Stefan Blügel

Meldungen und Termine

Künstlerische Darstellung der atomaren Spitze eines Rastertunnelmikroskops beim Abtasten einer Metalloberfläche mit einem aufgelagerten Kobaltatom.

Forscher stellen grundlegende Studie zum Kondo-Effekt in Frage

Jülich, 7. Januar 2021 - Der Kondo-Effekt beeinflusst den elektrischen Widerstand von Metallen bei tiefen Temperaturen und erzeugt komplexe elektronische und magnetische Ordnungen. Neuartige Konzepte zur Datenspeicherung und -verarbeitung, etwa mittels Quantenpunkten, basieren darauf. 1998 veröffentlichten US-amerikanische Forscher spektroskopische Untersuchungen zum Kondo-Effekt mittels Rastertunnelmikroskopie, die als wegweisend gelten und Auslöser für unzählige weitere Untersuchungen dieser Art waren. Zahlreiche dieser Untersuchungen müssen möglicherweise noch einmal überprüft werden, nachdem Jülicher Forscher nun zeigen, dass sich der Kondo-Effekt nicht zweifelsfrei auf diesem Weg nachweisen lässt. Stattdessen erzeugt ein anderes Phänomen genau den spektroskopischen "Fingerabdruck", der bisher dem Kondo-Effekt zugeschrieben wurde.

Bild

PGI Kolloquium: Prof. Dr. Ivette Fuentes, University of Southampton, Southampton, UK

The unification of quantum theory and general relativity remains one of the most important open issues in fundamental physics. A main problem is that we are missing experimental input at scales where quantum and relativistic effects coexist.

Fokus

Nachwuchs13_jpg

Wanted: Nachwuchs!

Suchen Sie eine spannende und herausfordernde Master-, Doktoranden- oder Postdoc-Stelle? Haben Sie Spaß an theoretischer Festkörperforschung und entwickeln gerne numerische und rechnerunterstützte Verfahren?

PGI-1

Joint Lab Virtual Materials Design

Das Ziel des JL-VMD ist die Entwicklung und Validierung von Methoden zur rechnergestützten Materialentwicklung.

Lounis_jpg

Nachwuchsgruppe Dr. Samir Lounis

Functional Nanoscale Structure Probe and Simulation Laboratory

Lezaic_jpg

Nachwuchsgruppe Dr. Marjana Ležaić

Computational Nanoferronics Laboratory

Mokrousov_jpg

Nachwuchsgruppe Prof. Dr. Yuriy Mokrousov

Topological Nanoelectronics Group