Navigation and service

Challenges in Modern IT

nformation and information processing are fundamental to modern society. This applies to many aspects of our daily life. In order to meet the grand challenges facing humanity in the future, information and communication technologies must continue to develop at a rapid pace.

Bild3a_jpg

The exponential increase in data traffic, the growing demands on information processing as well as the increasing need to protect information calls for ever larger and more complex IT systems. This naturally results in a critical increase in IT energy costs.

With the foreseeable end of exponential growth in computing power, also known as “Moore´s law”, and the so-called “von Neumann bottleneck” slowing down on-chip data processing, ground-breaking improvements in the performance of information processing systems are needed. These will result primarily from breakthroughs in two fundamental areas: quantum physics, in particular through the study of quantum phenomena in materials and their use in devices, and biology, through the study of biological and neural information systems.

The main area of our research is focused on potential applications in information technology and related fields, in particular:

  • quantum materials
  • quantum computing
  • neuromorphic computing.

The PGI contributes to these important areas. We have long-standing expertise in research on new phenomena in condensed matter, the development of novel materials and functional nanostructures as well as innovation in experimental and theoretical methods. The main focus of our work is always on potential applications in information technology and related fields.

Quantum and neuromorphic computing have become our areas of special focus. Both technologies have the potential to contribute to the IT challenges described above. Both technologies can perform certain types of computations faster and/or more energy-efficiently than today's computers. In quantum computing for example, these calculations include optimization problems and the issue of secure encryption; in neuromorphic computing, they include pattern recognition. In this way, the PGI’s research contributes to solving some of the major challenges facing science, society and the economy.

Navigation und Service

Herausforderungen in der IT

Information und Informationsverarbeitung sind Grundlagen moderner Gesellschaften. Dies gilt für viele Bereiche unseres täglichen Lebens. Um den großen Herausforderungen zu begegnen, vor denen die Menschheit in Zukunft stehen wird, müssen sich die Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien weiterhin rasch entwickeln.

Bild3a_jpg

Die exponentielle Zunahme von Daten und Datenaustausch, die steigenden Anforderungen an die Informationsverarbeitung sowie die zunehmende Notwendigkeit Informationen zu schützen, erfordern immer größere und komplexere IT-Systeme. Dies führt natürlich zu einem kritischen Anstieg der Energiekosten für IT.

Wegen des absehbaren Endes des exponentiellen Wachstums der Rechenleistung, auch bekannt als "Moore’sches Gesetz", und wegen des so genannten „von-Neumann-Engpasses“, der die On-Chip-Datenverarbeitung verlangsamt, sind wegweisende Verbesserungen bei der Leistung von Informationsverarbeitungssystemen notwendig. Diese werden vor allem aus Durchbrüchen in zwei grundlegenden Bereichen resultieren: in der Quantenphysik, insbesondere durch die Untersuchung von Quantenphänomenen in Materialien und deren Nutzung in Bauteilen, und in der Biologie, durch die Erforschung biologischer und neuronaler Informations-Systeme.

Das Hauptaugenmerk unserer Forschung liegt auf möglichen Anwendungen in der Informationstechnologie und verwandten Bereichen. Besonders im Fokus stehen dabei:

  • Quantenmaterialien,
  • Quantencomputer,
  • neuromorphes Rechnen.

Das PGI trägt zu diesen wichtigen Bereichen bei. Wir verfügen über langjährige Expertise in der Erforschung neuer Phänomene in kondensierter Materie, der Entwicklung neuartiger Materialien und funktioneller Nanostrukturen sowie der Innovation experimenteller und theoretischer Methoden. Das Hauptaugenmerk unserer Arbeit liegt dabei stets auf potenziellen Anwendungen in der Informationstechnologie und verwandten Bereichen.

Dabei haben wir Quantencomputing und neuromorphes Rechnen zu unseren besonderen Schwerpunkten gemacht. Beide Technologien haben das Potenzial zu den oben beschriebenen Herausforderungen der IT beizutragen. Beide Technologien können jeweils bestimmte Arten von Berechnungen schneller und/oder energieeffizienter durchführen als die heutigen Computer. Im Quantencomputing gehören dazu beispielsweise Optimierungsprobleme und das Problem der sicheren Verschlüsselung, in der neuromorphen Datenverarbeitung die Erkennung von Mustern. Damit trägt die Forschung des PGI zur Lösung einiger der großen Herausforderungen für Wissenschaft, Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft bei.