Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Solid-state batteries team

The „Solid-State Batteries“ team develops ceramic-based cells and components for future electrochemical energy storage. Know-how ranges from new materials over conventional ceramic processing methods all the way to full battery cell manufacturing.

Electrochemical Storage


The Lithium-ion battery’s success story continues with the opening of new fields of application in electro-mobility and stationary energy storage. In established fields of application, requirements with respect to safety, energy and power density also increase steadily.

Research needs to accommodate this change with further development of existing technologies, but also the targeted investigation of new, disruptive concepts. In both cases, easy transferability of the results into industry needs to be a major goal. These three propositions are the basis of the work of the team “Solid-State Batteries” at IEK-1.

One option to enhance the safety as well as the energy and power density of future batteries is the shift from liquid or polymer electrolytes to ceramic ones. Research goal in this field is the development of high capacity cells, only containing solid state materials and working at room temperature. These cells are intrinsically safe since leakage and temperature stability are dealt with on a materials level, one promising ceramic electrolyte candidate being Li7La3Zr2O12 (LLZ). With layer thicknesses comparable to conventional Li-ion batteries, the focus of our research lies on synthesis of basic powders in large amounts, parts and components manufacturing and full cell assembly. Basis for this work is our deep know-how and large portfolio of ceramic synthesis and processing methods, allowing us to investigate a large array of material combinations and cell types.

We are able to widely adapt our cells to the specific needs of our partners in research and industry. Please feel free to contact us for more detailed information.

Solid-State Batteries Team
Arbeitsgruppe Dünne Schichten: Martin Finsterbusch
Dr. Martin Finsterbusch
Team leader
Phone: +49 2461 61-2877
email: m.finsterbusch@fz-juelich.de

Team Festkörperbatterien: Yulia Arinicheva
Yulia Arinicheva
Scientific employee
Phone: +49 2461 61-96650
email: y.arinicheva@fz-juelich.de
Team Festkörperbatterien: Gerald Dück
Gerald Dück
PhD student
Phone: +49 2461 61-96736
email: g.dueck@fz-juelich.de
Team Festkörperbatterien: Philipp Hecker
Philipp Hecker
Technical employee
Phone: +49 2461 61-85269
email: p.hecker@fz-juelich.de
Team Festkörperbatterien: Martin Ihrig
Martin Ihrig
PhD student
Phone: +49 2461 61-96841
email: m.ihrig@fz-juelich.de
Team Festkörperbatterien: Mark Kappertz
Mark Kappertz
Technical employee
Phone: +49 2461 61-3520
email: m.kappertz@fz-juelich.de
Team Festkörperbatterien: Küpers, Michael
Michael Küpers
Scientific employee
Phone: +49 2461 61-85266
email: m.kuepers@fz-juelich.de
Team Festkörperbatterien
Markus Mann
Scientific employee
Phone: +49 2461 61-96763
email: m.mann@fz-juelich.de
Team Festkörperbatterien: Sören Möller
Sören Möller
Scientific employee
Phone: +49 2461 61-2963
email: s.moeller@fz-juelich.de
Team Festkörperbatterien: Christoph Roitzheim
Christoph Roitzheim
PhD student
Phone: +49 2461 61-8039
email: c.roitzheim@fz-juelich.de
Team Festkörperbatterien: Melanie Rosen
Melanie Rosen
PhD student
Phone: +49 2461 61-96737
email: m.rosen@fz-juelich.de
Team Festkörperbatterien: Ah-Ram Seok
Ah-Ram Seok
PhD student
Phone: +49 2461 61-4217
email: a.seok@fz-juelich.de
Team Festkörperbatterien: Serkan Sevinc
Serkan Sevinc
Doktorand
Phone: +49 2461 61-6792
email: s.sevinc@fz-juelich.de
Arbeitsgruppe Dünne Schichten: Chih-Long Tsai
Dr. Chih-Long Tsai
Scientific employee
Phone: +49 2461 61-9704
email: c.tsai@fz-juelich.de
Team Modellierung: Liang-Yin Kuo
Liang-Yin Kuo
Visiting scientist
Phone: +49 2461 61-85134
email: l.kuo@fz-juelich.de
Team Festkörperbatterien: Ruijie Ye
Ruijie Ye
PhD student
Phone: +49 2461 61-96827
email: r.ye@fz-juelich.de

Address

Institute of Energy and Climate Research (IEK-1)
Materials Synthesis and Processing

Forschungszentrum Jülich
Wilhelm-Johnen-Strasse
52425 Jülich
Germany


Servicemeu

Homepage