About us

Florian Winkler, Juri Barthel, Amir H. Tavabi, Sven Borghardt, Beata E. Kardyna, Rafal E. Dunin-Borkowski

Research

The ER-C is a centre of excellence in advanced transmission electron microscopy and spectroscopy for addressing topical problems in solid state physics and chemistry, materials science, soft matter and biology.

Landscape

Users

The ER-C operates a user facility that provides access to state-of-the-art instruments, methods and expertise to universities, research institutions and industry. It is governed jointly by FZJ and RWTH Aachen.

Vincenzo Grillo, Alberto Roncaglia, Paulo Rosi and the Q-SORT project.

Methods

New techniques and instrumentation are developed by the ER-C’s scientific and technical staff in collaboration with academic and commercial partners, as well as with the instrumentation institutes in Forschungszentrum Jülich.

Landscape

Landscape

The ER-C is a key part of the European landscape of infrastructures for the characterization of materials using advanced techniques and instrumentation.

Lab tours of ER-C

Careers

The Ernst Ruska-Centre offers opportunities for students and scientists to conduct research in fundamental and applied electron microscopy. Students are given access to world-leading instruments and have the opportunity to work with experts in the field during the course of their Bachelor, Master or PhD thesis.

News and Events

FeRAM: Polarisationsordnungen in Hafniumoxid

Towards the Further Miniaturization of FeRAM

Jülich / Aachen, 2 February 2021. Ferroelectric Random Access Memory, or FeRAM for short, offers both working memory and data storage in one. This saves on the time and energy needed by conventional computers to transport data between the two units. In addition, the saved data is retained even without a power supply. The write performance and service life of these components are already outstanding and the first FeRAMs are already in use, for example in chip cards or RFID tags. However, comparatively small amounts of data can as yet be stored on a FeRAM, as the space required for storing individual bits is too large. The latest studies using electron microscopes by scientists at Forschungszentrum Jülich and RWTH Aachen University now indicate a way to reduce the size of FeRAM bits by more than a factor of 100.

PICONews_jpg

PICO 2021

The Sixth Conference on Frontiers of Aberration Corrected Electron Microscopy is scheduled to take place in spring 2021. Due to ongoing restrictions in connection with the Corona Pandemic, the format might be changed to an online conference. The conference will again address recent advances in methods and applications for the study of solids in condensed matter research and the life sciences by the application of advanced electron microscopy techniques.

Focus

erc_jpg


ER-C for External Users

Access to the ER-C’s facilities is provided on the basis of peer-reviewed applications. Please contact our User Office for further information.

erc_2_0_jpg


ER-C 2.0

As part of the programme to promote structural change in the Rhineland, the Ernst Ruska-Centre at Forschungs- zentrum Jülich is to be strategically expanded within the framework of the ER-C 2.0 project, and as a national research infrastructure for high-resolution electron microscopy, will create characterisation capabilities that are unparalleled world- wide. With its unique profile, the Rhineland is thus set to become Germany's most attractive region for the establishment of new materials technologies.

PICONews_jpg


How the "PICO" Microscope Works

A unique transmission electron microscope with a resolution of 50 picometres has been available in the ER-C since February 2012. Learn here how the "PICO" (Advanced Picometre Resolution Project) works.

JuStruct_jpg


JuStruct

The Jülich Centre for Structural Biology ("JuStruct") is a user platform for determining atomically-resolved structures of medically and neurobiologically relevant proteins using NMR spectroscopy, X-ray crystallography, computer simulations, neutron scattering, neutron spectroscopy and cryo-EM.

Logo


ESTEEM3

ESTEEM3 – Enabling Science and Technology through European Electron Microscopy – is an EU funded project for electron microscopy, which aims at providing access to leading European state-of-the-art electron microscopy research infrastructures.

3D_Magic_jpg


3D MAGIC

This European Research Council Synergy project aims at studying three-dimensional magnetic solitons with high temporal and spatial resolution, bringing together experts on magnetic imaging, magnetic manipulation, theory and device applications.

Logo


Q-SORT

Thanks to smart phase manipulation, Q-SORT revolutionises the electron microscope by turning it into a so-called Quantum Sorter, yielding new insights in solid-state physics and biochemistry. This cutting-edge research project is funded by the EU’s FET OPEN Programme.

Über uns

Florian Winkler, Juri Barthel, Amir H. Tavabi, Sven Borghardt, Beata E. Kardyna, Rafal E. Dunin-Borkowski

Forschung

Das ER-C ist ein Kompetenz- zentrum für modernste Trans- missionselektronenmikroskopie und -spektroskopie zur Lösung hochaktueller Fragestellungen der Materialwissenschaft, der Festkörperphysik und -chemie, in der Biologie und weichen Materie.

Landscape

Nutzer

Das ER-C betreibt gemeinsam mit der RWTH Aachen ein Nutzerzentrum, welches Universitäten, Forschungsinstituten und der Industrie Zugang zu modernsten Instrumenten, Methoden und Expertise ermöglicht.

Vincenzo Grillo, Alberto Roncaglia, Paulo Rosi and the Q-SORT project.

Methoden

In Kooperation mit akademischen und kommerziellen Partnern, sowie der technischen Infrastruktur des Forschungszentrums Jülich entwickelt das wissenschaftliche und technische Team des ER-C modernste Techniken und Instrumente.

Landscape

Infrastrukturlandschaft

Das ER-C spielt innerhalb der europäischen Infrastrukturlandschaft eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Materialcharakterisierung unter Verwendung von High-End Technologien und Instrumenten.

Lab tours of ER-C

Karriere

Das Ernst Ruska-Center bietet Studierenden und Wissenschaftlern die Möglichkeit, in der Grundlagen- und angewandten Elektronenmikroskopie forschen zu können. Studierende erhalten Zugang zu weltweit führenden Instrumenten und haben die Möglichkeit, im Rahmen ihrer Bachelor-, Master- oder Doktorarbeit mit führenden Wissenschaftlern auf dem Gebiet zu arbeiten.

Meldungen und Termine

FeRAM: Polarisationsordnungen in Hafniumoxid

Weg zu weiterer Miniaturisierung von FeRAM

Jülich / Aachen, 2. Februar 2020. Ferroelectric Random Access Memory, kurz FeRAM, sind Arbeitsspeicher und Datenspeicher in Einem. Das spart Zeit und Energie, die bei herkömmlichen Computern für den Transport der Daten zwischen beiden Einheiten nötig sind. Zudem bleiben die gespeicherten Daten auch ohne Stromversorgung erhalten. Schreibgeschwindigkeit und Lebensdauer solcher Bauteile sind bereits hervorragend und erste FeRAM im Einsatz, zum Beispiel in Chipkarten oder RFID-Etiketten. Noch lassen sich jedoch vergleichsweise wenige Daten auf einem FeRAM unterbringen, weil der Raumbedarf für die Speicherung einzelner Bits zu groß ist. Neuste elektronenmikroskopische Untersuchungen von Wissenschaftlern des Forschungszentrums Jülich und der RWTH Aachen zeigen nun einen Weg auf, die Größe von FeRAM-Bits um mehr als den Faktor 100 zu verringern.

PICONews_jpg

PICO 2021

Die 6. Konferenz über die "Frontiers of Aberration Corrected Electron Microscopy" soll im Frühjahr 2021 stattfinden. Aufgrund der anhaltenden Einschränkungen durch die Corona Pandemie wird diese eventuell als Online-Veranstaltung durchgeführt. Die Konferenz wird sich erneut mit den aktuellen Entwicklungen bei den Methoden und Anwendungen für die Untersuchung von Festkörpern in der Forschung auf dem Gebiet der kondensierten Materie und in den Lebenswissenschaften durch die Anwendung forschrittlicher Techniken der Elektronenmikroskopie befassen.

Fokus

erc_jpg


ER-C für externe Benutzer

Alle ER-C Einrichtungen und Einsatzmöglichkeiten sind auf der Grundlage von Peer-Review Anträgen zugänglich. Kontaktieren Sie bitte unser Nutzerbüro für weitere Informationen.

erc_2_0_jpg


ER-C 2.0

Im Rahmen der Förderung des Strukturwandels im Rheinischen Revier soll das Ernst Ruska-Centrum des Forschungszentrums Jülich im Rahmen des Projekts ER-C 2.0 gezielt ausgebaut und als nationale Forschungsinfra- struktur für höchstauflösende Elektronenmikroskopie weltweit einzigartige Charak- terisierungsmöglichkeiten schaffen. Das Rheinische Revier soll damit im Sinne eines Alleinstellungsmerkmals auf nationaler Ebene zur attraktivsten Region für die Ansiedlung von neuen Werkstofftechnologien werden.

PICONews_jpg


So funktioniert "PICO"

Ein einzigartiges Transmissionselektronenmikroskop mit einer Auflösung von 50 Pikometern ist seit Februar 2012 am ER-C verfügbar. Erfahren Sie hier wie „PICO“ (Advanced Picometre Resolution Project) im Detail funktioniert.

JuStruct_jpg


JuStruct

Jülich Centre for Structural Biology („JuStruct“) ist eine  Nutzer-Plattform für die Bestimmung atomar aufgelöster Strukturen von medizinisch und neurobiologisch relevanten Proteinen mittels NMR-Spektroskopie, Röntgen-Kristallographie, Computersimulationen, Neutronenstreuung, Neutronenspektroskopie und Kryo-EM.

Logo


ESTEEM3

ESTEEM3 – Enabling Science and Technology through European Electron Microscopy – ist ein EU-finanziertes Projekt für Elektronenmikroskopie, das den Zugang zu führenden europäischen Forschungsinfrastrukturen für Elektronenmikroskopie ermöglichen soll.

3D_Magic_jpg


3D MAGIC

Im Rahmen dieses Synergy Projektes des Europäischen Forschungsrates werden Experten für die Theorie und Bauteilentwicklung im Bereich magnetischer Bildgebung und Manipulation zusammengebracht, um dreidimensionale magnetische Solitonen mit hoher zeitlicher und räumlicher Auflösung zu untersuchen.

Logo


Q-SORT

Dank smarter Phasenmanipulation verwandelt Q-SORT Elektronenmikroskope in Quantensortierer. Dies revolutioniert die Elektronenmikroskopie und liefert neue Einblicke in die Festkörperphysik und Biochemie. Finanziert wird dieses Spitzenforschungsprojekt durch das EU FET OPEN Programm.