Navigation and service

Scientists Win Award for New Technique for Fabricating Biosurfactants

Regional university competition "ZukunftErfindenNRW" for inventive solutions for the future

Dortmund/Düsseldorf/Jülich, 23 May – Yesterday evening in Dortmund, the prizes were presented to the three winners of this year’s regional university competition "ZukunftErfindenNRW" run by the Ministry of Innovation, Science and Research and the patent marketing agency for universities in North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW). In the "progress through transfer" category, the prize worth € 10,000 went to a technique for fabricating biosurfactants developed by a team consisting of Prof. Dr. Lars Blank and Till Tiso (TU Dortmund, currently RWTH Aachen University) as well as Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf’s Dr. Frank Rosenau (currently University of Ulm), Dr. Susanne Wilhelm, and Dr. Andreas Wittgens. NRW Science Minister Svenja Schulze presented the prize. The congratulatory speech was given by Prof. Dr. Karl-Erich Jaeger, head of Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf’s Institute of Molecular Enzyme Technology (IMET) located at Forschungszentrum Jülich.

read more (in German)