link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service

The 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Stockholm - The Nobel Prize in Chemistry rewards the development of the lithium-ion battery

For their work on "the development of lithium-ion batteries" the comitee awarded John Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akhira Yoshino this years Nobel Prize in Chemistry. Through their work, the researches have led the foundation for rapid developments in various technologies, such as mobile phones, electric vehicles, hearing aids and pacemakers. For this enormous benefit to humankind and contribution to a wireless and fossil fuel-free society the three will be awarded with the Nobel Prize in Stockholm on 10 December.

see also:article